Graduate Scholars


Shannon Carcelli, Ph.D. 2018 (UCSD)

Lauren Ferry, Ph.D. 2019 (UCSD)

Abigail Vaughn, Ph.D. 2019 (UCSD)

Christina Cottiero, Ph.D. 2021 (UCSD)

Michael Duda, Ph.D. Candidate 2019 (UCSD)

ShahBano Ijaz, Ph.D. 2023 (UCSD)

Nathan Mariano, Ph.D. Candidate 2021 (UCSD)

Austin Beacham, Ph.D. Candidate 2022 (UCSD)

June Jung, Ph.D. Candidate 2023 (UCSD)

Theodore Dounias, Ph.D. Candidate 2023 (UCSD)

Duong Pham, Ph.D. Student 2024 (UCSD)


Francesca Piccin, Ph.D. 2013 (University of Geneva)

  • Dissertation: The European Union Humanitarian Aid Policy and the Management of External Humanitarian Crises.

Simone Guenther, Ph.D. 2016 (University of Zurich)

  • Dissertation: Newcomer Behavior in the World Trade Organization. Activity, Cooperation & Strategies in the Doha Round Negotiations.

Michael Nicholson, Ph.D. 2018 (UCSD)

  • Dissertation: Immigrants’ Identities and Host-Country Participation: The Role of Linked Fate.

Sara Kerosky Guenther, Ph.D. 2018 (UCSD)

  • Dissertation: Relaxing Federal Rules: Political Determinants of Targeted Leniency.
  • Webpage:

Kelly S. Matush, Ph.D. 2018 (UCSD)

Derek Bonett, Ph.D. 2018 (UCSD)

  • Dissertation: Political Incentives for Regulatory Forbearance in Banking

Heidi McNamara, Ph.D. 2019 (UCSD)

Yoav Raskin, Ph.D. 2022 (Tel Aviv University)

  • Dissertation: Doomed to Alienate? How European Integration Feeds Euroscepticism.
  • Webpage

Rachel Schoner, Ph.D. 2022 (UCSD)

Timon Forster, Ph.D. 2022 (Freie Universitaet Berlin)

Alexandra Lange, Ph.D. 2022 (UCSD)

  • Dissertation: Un-American: Debating American Identity at the Water’s Edge

Ioannis Verglioglou, Ph.D. 2023 (ETH Zurich)

  • Dissertation: Who Benefits from EU Money? The Political Effects of European Union Investment Instruments

Rachel Skillman, Ph.D. Candidate 2021 (UCSD)

Sevin Sagnic, Ph.D. Candidate 2021 (UCSD, Sociology)

Bianca Freeman, Ph.D. Candidate 2021 (UCSD)

Kennedy Middleton, Ph.D. Candidate 2021 (UCSD)

Jesus Rojas-Venzor, Ph.D. Student 2022 (UCSD)

Junyoung Han, Ph.D. Student 2023 (UCSD)


Eric Della Santa, 2010-2011 (UCSD)

Vijaya Surampudi, 2010-2011 (UCSD)

Theodore Widjaja, 2018-2019 (UCSD)

Ryan Roden, 2020-2021 (UCSD)

Audrey Swenson-Heim, 2021-2022 (UCSD)

Julia Poon, 2022-2023 (UCSD)