FeministIT starts tomorrow, a few updates in the meantime

The UCFemTechNet assembly Feminist IT kicks off tomorrow evening at 7pm.

Due to an incredible amount of interest, the event has more registered participants than the Cymer Conference Center room capacity can accommodate (110), so the registration had to close a bit early. It’s perhaps telling of the timeliness and importance of the theme that it has generated so much interest.

To better accommodate a larger crowd, the Thursday events in the program  will also be in the Cymer Conference Center, which is on the second floor of the Structural and Mechanical Engineering building (SME), and not in the Performance Space. The SME building is on the eastern part of the UCSD campus. Directions are here, more on parking and logistics are here (scroll for details).

We’ll be updating our Facebook page with details, and the Twitter hashtag for the event is #femIT.

Registration deadline for Feminist IT this Friday

Register before Friday, April 12, 2013 for the Feminist IT conference next week. Confirmed participants in the event include:

Amelia Acker (UCLA)
Christina Agapakis (UCLA)
Morana Alač (UCSD)
Anne Balsamo (New School)
Lauren Berliner (UCSD)
Emily Brooks (UCI)
Amanda Cachia (UCSD)
Lisa Cartwright (UCSD)
Adele Clarke (UCSF)
Heidi Rae Cooley (University of South Carolina)
Jordan Crandall (UCSD)
Sharon Daniel (UCSC)
Katherine Darling (UCSF)
Zeinabu Davis (UCSD)
Mary Anne Doane (UCB)
April Durham (UCR)
Kelly Gates (UCSD)
Yelena Gluzman (UCSD)
Josh Guilford (Brown)
Aaron Gurlly (UCSD)
N. Katherine Hayles (Duke)
Louise Hickman (UCSD)
Amy-Claire Huestis (UCLA)
Lilly Irani (UCI)
Roshanak Kheshti (UCSD)
Antoinette LaFarge (UCI)
Martha Lampland (UCSD)
Lan Xuan Le (UCSB)
Elizabeth Losh (UCSD)
Kelli Moore (UCSD)
Chandra Mukerji (UCSD)
Sheila Murphy (Michigan)
Meena Natarajan (UCB)
Lisa Parks (UCSB)
Matt Perkins (UCLA)
Pooja Rangan (New School)
Kriss Ravetto-Biagioli (UCR)
Beth Reddy (UCI)
Andy Rice (UCSD)
Jeanette Roan (California College of the Arts)
Fatimah Tobing Rony (UCI)
Susana Ruiz (USC)
Monika Sengul-Jones (UCSD)
Carol Stabile (University of Oregon)
Erika Suderburg (UCR)
Chikako Takeshita (UCR)
Tina Takemoto (California College of the Arts)
Saundarya Thapa (UCLA)
Lindsay Thomas (UCSB)
Chad Valasek (UCSD)
Victoria Vesna (UCLA)
Cristina Visperas (UCSD)
Kalinda Vora (UCSD)
Adrianne Wadewitz (Occidental College)
Zara Zepel (UCSD)

Feminist IT is proud to thank the following sponsors, who are making the event possible:

University of California Humanities Research Institute

Center for Information Technology and Society at UCSB

UCSD Visual Arts Department

UCSD Division of Social Science, Office of the Dean

UCSD Graduate Student Association

UCSD Science Studies Program

UCSD Department of Communication

UCSD Critical Gender Studies Program

UCSD Cross-Cultural Center

UCSD LGBT Resource Center

UCSD Women’s Center

UCSD Sixth College