Seventeenth Manchester Phonology Meeting


Seventeenth Manchester Phonology Meeting

28-30 MAY 2009

Deadline for abstracts: 2nd March 2009

Special session: ‘The History of Phonological Theory’ featuring John Goldsmith, D. Robert Ladd, and Tobias Scheer, and with a contribution from Morris Halle. The session will be introduced by Jacques Durand.

Held in Manchester, UK. Organised through a collaboration of phonologists at the University of Edinburgh, the University of Manchester, the Universite Toulouse-Le Mirail and elsewhere.

Conference website:

We are pleased to announce our Seventeenth Manchester Phonology Meeting (17mfm). The mfm is the UK’s annual phonology conference, with an international set of organisers. It is held in late May every year in Manchester. The meeting has become a key conference for phonologists from all corners of the world, where anyone who declares themselves to be interested in phonology can submit an abstract on anything phonological in any phonological framework. In an informal atmosphere, we discuss a broad range of topics, including the phonological description of a wide variety of languages, issues in phonological theory, aspects of phonological acquisition and implications of phonological change.


There is no conference theme – abstracts can be submitted on anything, but, following the success of such sessions in previous years, a special themed session has been organised, entitled ‘The History of Phonological Theory’. This will be introduced by Jacques Durand (Toulouse), will feature invited speakers and will conclude in an open discussion session when contributions from the audience will be very welcome.

SPECIAL SESSION SPEAKERS (in alphabetical order)

* John A. Goldsmith (University of Chicago)
* Morris Halle (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
[Professor Halle’s paper will either be presented in person, or may be read by another]
* D. Robert Ladd (University of Edinburgh)
* Tobias Scheer (University of Nice)


**This is a summary – please consult the website for full details**

* We are running a new system for abstract submission this year, using the Linguist List’s EasyAbstracts system.

* There is no obligatory conference theme – abstracts can be submitted on anything.

* Abstracts should be uploaded to the 17mfm’s page on the EasyAbstracts site by 2nd March 2009:

* Abstracts should be no longer than one side of A4, with 2.5cm or one inch margins, single-spaced, with a font size no smaller than 12, and with normal character spacing.

* Your abstract should be anonymous. You will be asked to submit a version with your name and affiliation on it if your abstract is selected for presentation. All abstracts will be reviewed anonymously by members of the organising committee and advisory board.

* You should use one of these formats for your abstract: pdf, Word, or plain text. If you need to use a phonetic font in your abstract, either embed it in a pdf file, or use the Doulos SIL font

* Full papers will last around 25 minutes with around 5 minutes for questions, and there will be a high-profile poster session lasting one and a half hours. When you submit your abstract, you will be asked to indicate whether you would prefer to present your work as an oral paper or a poster paper, or whether you would be prepared to present it in either form.

* If you need technical equipment for your talk you will need to let the organisers know if your abstract is selected for presentation. We will do our best to provide it, although this cannot be guaranteed.

* We aim to finalise the programme, and to contact abstract-senders by around the early April, and we will contact those who have sent abstracts as soon as the decisions have been made.

**Further important details** concerning abstract submission are available on the conference website – please make sure that you consult these before submitting an abstract:



Organising Committee:
The first named is the convenor and main organiser – if you would like to attend or if you have any queries about the conference, please feel free to get in touch with me (
* Patrick Honeybone (Edinburgh)
* Ricardo Bermudez-Otero (Manchester)

Advisory Board:
* Adam Albright (MIT)
* Jill Beckman (Iowa)
* Bert Botma (Leiden)
* Philip Carr (Montpellier)
* Mike Davenport (Durham)
* Jacques Durand (Toulouse-Le Mirail)
* Daniel L. Everett (Illinois State)
* Paul Foulkes (York)
* S.J. Hannahs (Newcastle upon Tyne)
* John Harris (UCL)
* Kristine A. Hildebrandt (Southern Illinois)
* Martin Krämer (Tromsø)
* Yuni Kim (Manchester)
* Nancy Kula (Essex)
* Ken Lodge (UEA)
* Aditi Lahiri (Oxford)
* Marc van Oostendorp (Meertens Instituut)
* Glyne Piggott (McGill)
* Catherine O. Ringen (Iowa)
* Tobias Scheer (Nice)
* James M. Scobbie (QMU)
* Daniel Silverman (San José State)
* Marilyn M. Vihman (York)
* Christian Uffmann (Sussex)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *